Community and Economic Development

Community and Economic Development

CAPDD's Community Services Department staff works with a wide variety of funding sources to help improve the lives of District residents.

Staff members assist cities and counties with applications for grant funds, and administer the projects once they are funded. Financing, management and administration are coordinated by staff, to construct public works, such as industrial park infrastructure, community water and wastewater systems, rural fire departments, day care centers and senior citizens centers. Numerous cities and counties are assisted each year in preparing and administering grant applications for recreation and tourism development. Listed below are the various types of grant programs utilized by the Community Services Department staff. For an entire list of programs, click here.


Economic Development Administration
The Central Arkansas Planning and Development District is awarded an annual Planning Grant from the U.S. Department of Commerce to develop, maintain and implement an "Economic Development Plan" for the Central District. Participation in this planning process ensures local government an additional 10% grant award for any grants received from the Economic Development Administration (EDA).

Arkansas Department of Economic Development

The Arkansas Community and Economic Development Program (ACEDP) is funded through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Small Cities Community Development Block Grant Program and is administered for the State by the Arkansas Department of Economic Development (ADED). The CAPDD administers these grants for cities and counties throughout the six county Central Planning District. 

Projects eligible for ADED funding include, water, wastewater, infrastructure needs for industry, loans to industry and categorical projects, such as public health, senior citizen's programs and day care needs that benefit low-to-moderate income citizens.

Delta Regional Authority

The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) was created by the U.S. Congress in 2000 to enhance the economic development and the quality of life in the Delta Region. The regions consist of 252 counties and parishes in parts of the state of Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee. The CAPDD is one of the DRA's 45 Local Development Districts (LDDs). Pulaski, Lonoke, Monroe, and Prairie counties are DRA designated counties with Lonoke, Monroe, Prairie designated as distressed DRA counties.

The DRA has several programs that provide funding to communities including the SEDAP grants. The SEDAP is designed to enhance the economic development activities taking place in the Delta region. Interested applicants should contact the CAPDD who will prepare and submit applications to the DRA. Project priority is determined by the Federal Priority Declarations, DRA Regional Development Plan Goals and States' DRA Strategic Plan Priorities. 

USDA Rural Development Grants/Loans

The USDA Rural Development Grants/Loans Program assistance is provided in many ways, including direct or guareented loans, grants, technical assistance, research and educational materials. There are grants and loans for business and cooperative grant assistance, housing and community facilities grant assistance and utilities grants. 

For more information on any of the Community and Economic Development Grant Programs, contact Conya Spencer, Program Manager at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or at 501-676-2721.